Search Criminal Records in Kent County, Texas. Results Include: Case Number, Charges, Defendant Address, Filed Location, Disposition, Arraignment, Statute, Level, Degree, Court Docket, Courthouse, Probate, Civil Records, Case Type, Defendant Records.

Kent County Information
The county was settled in 1892, and the population estimated at 808 as of the 2010 census. It is the sixth least populous county in the state. The county seat is Jayton, and it is also the largest community. The total area of the county is 903 square miles. The county is named for Andrew Kent, who died at the Battle of the Alamo. Kent County is one of 30 prohibition or entirely dry counties in the state of Texas.

Through the years of 1946 through 1991 oil was discovered in Kent County in 1946. By 1991, more than 448,448,000 barrels of oil have been produced in the county since 1946.

The area code in use for this county is 806.

Sheriff’s Office
You can meet Sheriff Scogin at his office address, which is 227 S Main St, Jayton, TX 79528. The office phone number is (806) 237-3801.

Sheriff Scogin fulfils many duties including:

  • Serves as a licensed peace officer
  • Manages and operates the county jail.
  • Provides security for the courts.
  • Serves warrants and civil papers.
  • Regulates bail bondsmen in counties with no bail bond board.

    County Courthouse
    The Honorable Jim White is the Kent County Judge. His office is located in the courthouse at 101 Main Street (P. O. Box 6) Jayton, Texas 79528. The phone number is 806.237.3373.

    As county judge, Honorable White’s duties include:

  • Presiding officer of the Commissioners Court.
  • Represents the county in many administrative functions.
  • Serves as budget officer
  • Most have broad judicial duties, such as presiding over misdemeanor criminal and small civil cases, probate matters and appeals from the Justice of the Peace Court.
  • Serves as head of emergency management.

    39th Judicial District Judge, Shane Hadaway has his office in the County Courthouse, 1 Avenue D (P. O. Box 966) Haskell, Texas 79521. The phone number is 940.864.2661

    County Jail
    The Kent County Sheriff’s Office currently houses inmates in Dickens, Stonewall and Garza Counties. These counties have entered into contract with Kent County to hold individuals who have been arrested within the jurisdiction of Kent County.

    Dickens County Sheriff’s Office
    US 82 & Crow
    P. O. Box 59
    Dickens, TX 79229
    (806) 623-5533

    Stonewall County Sheriff’s Office
    416 Jefferson
    Aspermont, TX 79502
    (940) 989-3333

    Garza County Sheriff’s Office
    412 East 15th St.
    Post, TX 79356
    (806) 495-3595

    Visitation information not available.

  • Kent County Courthouse Address: 101 N Main St, Jayton, TX 79528, United States

    Please Share Your Experiences Visiting Or Staying In This Facility