Search Public Records in Franklin County, KY. Results May Include: Marriage and Divorce Records, Criminal Records, Birth and Death Records, Probate Documents, Land Records, Arrests, Addresses, Liens and Judgments.

Franklin County, Kentucky Overview

Franklin County is located in the state of Kentucky. The county was formed in May 10, 1795 and named after Benjamin Franklin. The county seat is Frankfort. As of 2010, the county has a population of 49,285. The county has a total area of 212 square miles, 208 square miles of which is land, and 4.3 square miles is water. The county consists of 6 ZIP codes, with ZIP code 40601 recorded as the one with the largest population. Franklin County borders the following counties: Owen County, Kentucky to the north; Anderson County, Kentucky to the south; Scott County, Kentucky to the east; Shelby County, Kentucky to the west; Henry County, Kentucky to the northwest, and; Woodford County, Kentucky to the southeast.

Franklin County Clerk Information


The Franklin County Clerk’s Office offers a variety of other services including:

  • Marriage Licenses
  • Notary Applications and Certifications (Please call about fees)
  • Fishing and Hunting License
  • Veteran’s Discharge.
  • Handicap Placards
  • Liquor Licenses


The Franklin County Clerk’s office has deeds and mortgage records dating back to 1795. Indexing for liens/encumbrances start in January of 1981. They also have wills indexed back to 1795.Records maintained in this office also include:

  • Power of Attorney
  • Fixture Filings
  • Marriage Licenses
  • Plats (some surveys) – imaging started 01/01/2004 (Full Size Copies available $3 for B/W and $5 for color)
  • Restrictions on subdivisions – In rolodex and on computer
  • Disability judgments
  • Guardianships
  • Veteran’s Discharge (DD214)

Their computer records go back to January of 1981. The rolodex ends 12/31/2010. Anything after that must be searched on the computers. Public access terminals are located in the Deed Room.

Land Records

The Franklin County Clerk’s Office is pleased to present eCCLIX, the Internet version of CCLIX. Today, the system known as CCLIX (“clicks”), County Clerk Indexing, is being utilized in almost two-thirds of Kentucky’s County Clerk offices. Attorneys, title search personnel, surveyors and realtors have grown to depend upon the CCLIX system to provide the fastest possible access to public records archived in the Kentucky County Clerk’s office.

Commercial User Records Search: This site was developed for businesses and individuals that are in the business of researching documents. There is a subscription fee and you will also have the option to add other counties within your searchable area.

Private Citizen Records Search: This site is for Franklin County residents seeking to search for personal reasons with zero commercial gain. You may only search Franklin County records and are limited to five searches per day. No charge for this service.

Motor Vehicles

Motor vehicle licensing is the most widely used service of the Franklin County Clerk’s office. When renewing your motor vehicle you have 3 options:

Renew online: You can renew your registration online through the Kentucky Motor Vehicle Licensing System. Visit their website to get started. You will receive your completed renewal by mail in 3 – 5 business days.

Mail-In Renewal Service: A $2.00 fee is added to cover postage and handling. Send registration certificate, current KY insurance card, and payment (plus a $2.00 mail-in fee) to Franklin County Clerk, PO Box 338 , Frankfort, KY 40602. You will receive your completed renewal by mail in 3 – 5 business days.

Renew in Person:
County Clerk’s Office
315 W Main St.
Frankfort, KY 40602-0338

Below is the physical address of the County Clerk:

Jeff Hancock, Franklin County Clerk
315 West Main St.
Frankfort, KY 40602
Office: 502-875-8702
Fax: 502-875-8718

Please Share Your Experiences Visiting Or Staying In This Facility